A Tale of Two Markets

Keith Teare
18 min readJan 22, 2022

Venture Boom & Wall Street Gloom

By Keith Teare • Issue #293 • View online

January has been all gloom for tech on Wall Street, but there is still a boom in Silicon Valley. What are the implications for Venture investors and founders of startups? Let’s dig into valuations and trends in tech investing.

Content

Editorial

I have avoided looking at my E*Trade account in 2022. I know it will not be pretty. My portfolio is made up of high growth recently public companies stretching from Snowflake and Cloudflare in cloud computing to Tesla, Rivian, Nio, and Li in Electric vehicles, and the Greystone Bitcoin and Ethereum Trusts in Crypto.

I have held most of the stocks for more than a year and they are having a terrible Winter. Google shows they lost about 20% of their value so far this year. Although they are collectively still up over 100% since I bought them.

--

--

Keith Teare

Founder at SignalRank Corporation. Publisher of That Was The Week, Founder at archimedes.studio. Founding TechCrunch investor